The work of APA Council is wide-ranging and this includes areas of activity that require ongoing and regular input. This work is generally overseen by individual committees which report to council.

These committees include members from council and co-optees who may be able to provide valuable input into the work of the committee. Most committees meet on a regular basis, either in person or increasingly by video conferencing.

Much of the preparatory work goes on behind the scenes and each committee will have different flows of work which reflect their individual areas of responsibility. An overview of the work of each committee, it's membership and terms of reference are included in the menu.

The President and Honorary Secretary of the APA are ex-officio members of all these committees.

Russell Perkins
Dr Russel Perkins
Co-opted member, Royal College of Anaesthetists

Dept of Paediatric Anaesthesia
Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital
Upper Brook Street
M13 9WL

Dr. Ken Barker
Co-opted member, Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland
Dr Bill Walsh
Member for Ireland
Dr Sumit Das
Honorary Secretary

Oxford Children's Hospital
John Radcliffe
Headley Way
Headington, Oxford OX3 9DU

Judith Nolan
Dr Judith Nolan
Chair of Education Committee

Bristol Children's Hospital, Upper Maudlin St, Bristol BS2 8BJ

I have been a Consultant Anaesthetist at Bristol Children’s Hospital since 2000.
For more than 15 years I led the Bristol Paediatric Anaesthesia training programme, and I ran regional and national ‘MEPA-style’ Simulation courses for ODPs and theatre staff.
For the last 4 years I have been an FRCA examiner and a member of APAGBI Council.

If you would like to contribute a hot topic or suggest ideas in any other way, do please contact me.

Dr Sarah Mahoney
Paediatric Critical Care Representative
Jonathan Smith
Dr Jonathan Smith
Chair Meetings Committee
Colin Dryden
Dr Colin Dryden
Outgoing Chair of Meetings Committee
Brian Foster
Dr Brian Foster
Northern Ireland Representative
Camilla Poulton
Ms Camilla Poulton
Patients’ Advisor
Dr Nicola Disma
Overseas Member

Department of Anesthesia, Instituto Giannina Gaslini, Italy

Dr Janet Stansfield
Home Member | Peer Review

Consultant Paediatric Anaesthetist
Birmingham Children's Hospital

Dr Sarah Greenaway
Newly Appointed Consultant | Sustainability Lead
Catalina Stendall

I am a Consultant Anaesthetist at Birmingham Women's and Children's Hospital. 
My main interests are Neuro and Craniofacial Anaesthesia. 
I am the department lead for sustainability. I have a particular interest in Education and simulation, and I am part of the Faculty for MEPA courses for trainees and consultants in the region.

Michelle Le Cheminant

I am a Consultant Anaesthetist based at the Medical Specialist Group in Guernsey, Channel Islands. We provide a mix of paediatric and adult anaesthetic services, and I am currently our department’s paediatric and safeguarding lead. I am also Vice Chair of the department and postgraduate education lead for the hospital. One of my key interests is education and training in low and middle income countries and I regularly volunteer overseas with the eye care charity Orbis International.

Natalie Quinn

I am a consultant in paediatric anaesthesia based at Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital. My interests in education and global health have allowed me to support a variety of platforms within the UK and internationally, to include delivery of SAFE, MEPA and ALS courses, across postgraduate and undergraduate arenas. I look forward to continuing this education and training work with the APA. 

Jo Norman
Dr. Zuzana Kusnirikova
Scotland Representative | SPAN Chair
Dr. Vimmi Oshan
QI Lead
Dr Raju Reddy
Home Member
Dr Laurence Hulatt
Home Member

Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust
Derriford Road

Dr Nirmala Soundararajan
Home Member